Executing reports is the core part of Wink Reports.


This reference will cover changing filter values, exporting, using saved filters, parameter lists, and creating sharing URLs.


The Basics

Wink Reports generates report output on demand, usually when a user manually runs the report through the website. Reports can also be generated on a schedule to be delivered via email or slack, programatically via API, or automatically triggered by a custom Winklet. This article will only cover running reports manually via the website.


Reports output can either be spreadsheet, document, or map. Most available reports produce spreadsheet output, and there is a report designer tool which allows users to custom design their own spreadsheet reports. Document and map reports are currently only available as custom implementations.


Reports are always generated using Wink's local copy of your connector data. Various background processes are responsible for keeping Wink's copy up-to-date, and this happens at different rates depending on the connector. Some connectors offer instantaneous updates, and some update as slowly as once per day.


When viewing a report, you can see how up-to-date the connector data is by clicking About This Report:


Using Filters

Most reports offer some filtering options that can be changed every time you run the report.


After changing filters be sure to click Run Report so the report body is updated.


Exporting Reports

Depending on the report, you can export to Excel, PDF, CSV, Smartsheet, or email.


First select your filter values, then use the arrow next to Run Report to show the available export formats. Selecting a format will start downloading the exported file.

 

Saved Filters

You can save sets of filter values as a preset so they can be recalled later. This is useful if you have groups of staff or clients that you regularly switch between (note: this case can also be handled by parameter lists, covered later in this guide).


To create a saved filter, use the Save Filter button while viewing a report. Hint: this button is also used to update an existing saved filter.

Type the name for your saved filter and click Save changes. If you wish to update an existing saved filter, select it from the list instead of entering a new name.

 

To recall values from a saved filter, use the Load Saved Filter button while viewing a report:

The report will be reloaded using the saved filter values. The name of the selected saved filter will be shown:


To remove a saved filter, use the Delete Saved Filter button while viewing a report:


Sharing URLs

A sharing URL lets you share your report with another person without requiring them to create a Wink Reports account. 


The sharing URL is associated with a specific saved filter, and the user will see a read-only version of the report using those filter values. This is useful to share a restricted view of the report with other members of your company.


To create a sharing URL, use the Create Sharing URL button while viewing a report:


The new URL will be shown above the report. Use the Copy button to copy the sharing URL to the clipboard.


To later recall the sharing URL, use the Load Saved Filter function:


The sharing URL will continue to function as long as the saved filter exists. If you update the saved filter, the report shown by the sharing URL will update accordingly. If you remove the saved filter, the sharing URL will no longer function.


Parameter Lists

Filters which use lists of your data (such as clients or employees) support using parameter lists. This allows you to save a preset of selected choices which can be reused when running the report.


For example if you have three teams of employees, you can make a parameter list for each team and easily switch between teams rather than selecting individual employees each time.


If a filter supports parameter lists, you'll see a Lists section. Click Manage Lists... to create, modify and remove parameter lists.


When running the report you can select any combination of parameter lists as well as individual items when running the report. The list "All" is built-in and cannot be removed or modified.